Venison franks: need advice

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

hangmanli

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Feb 2, 2017
Long Island, NY
over the past several days I made 25lbs of venison summer sausage, 12 1/2 lbs of venison trail Bologna, 12 1/2 lbs of venison garlic sausage and 12 1/ lbs of venison franks. They were put into edible collagen casings. I used the LEM packet seasoning with the Instacure.

I’ve got a Bradley 4 shelf digital smoker. I haven’t gotten around to upgrading it with the PID controller.

I’ve learned about the A-maze-In smoke tube here and it works great! Also about using the turkey roaster to finish the smoked sausages in a “hot bath”

I’ve never done venison franks before.

I’ve got a graduation party Sunday for my daughter. I made these franks on Saturday and they’ve been in the refrigerator. It’s half venison and half pork. Should I vacuum seal them and freeze them? Or will they last?

Should I use the hot water bath to cook them? Gas grill them? Or use the Bradley Smoker? If so should I lay them on the shelves (four)? Do they have to reach 160° before serving them?

Thanks for any helpful advice

Imho they will be fine. On the cooking is a matter of preference if their is a lot of people and a short time to serve either smoke them and then poach them to 150f or so then package. Throw them on the grill for some marks and get to internal temp of 140f and serve. Or just grill them like normal dogs and serve if time allows and you don’t want smoke. I’m sure you will get other ideas shortly good luck

Ground meats should be cooked to an IT of at least 160 as there is a chance of higher bacteria levels and 160 is needed to kill all the bacteria.