Using propane tank as base for bbq project

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokinjunkie

Original poster
Jul 18, 2009
Hi i was curious if any one has, and can tell me how to clean a propane tank to use it as a main chamber for a bbq smoker. I am a welder and fabricator at heart and getting into smoking more and more over the last ten years, but this is above my ability as far as knowing what the nasty garlic smell from a propane tank would do to your meat. I have heard of people doing it but what they did is unknown. I have a very large 24" by 48" tank that was on my property when i moved here. Any help would be appreciated.
icon_question.gif

I don't have a clue personally, but there are lots of great fabricators that are around here.
I'm sure someone who knows will be around shortly....good luck with your build!

Hey Junkie,

The smell comes from Methanethiol (also known as methyl mercaptan) which is added to the propane (which is odorless). This compound is added as a safety measure so that leaks can be easily noted. It vaporizes easily, but is added at the refinery as a liquid to liquid propane. When the propane vaporizes, however, since the boiling point of the odorant is different than the propane (liquid to gas conversion) some of the methyl mercaptan will remain in the tank, and the concentration will increase. Even when the tank is evacuated, the characteristic smell will remain, ultimately coating the inside of the tank surface.