Today is the day! First smoke

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

stanleyjohn

Original poster
Aug 13, 2007
Haddam Ct
Well! i have been waiting for this day all week.I will be smoking a 4 pound pork shoulder.I will take some pics as the day goes by.Here is my first pic! I applied the yellow mustard and a pork rub.Since this is my first time i didnt make my own Rub its store bought and called (McCormick Grill Mates).
272d0501_vbattach14010.jpg

Looks great. I've used that rub and fo a commercial rub it is pretty tasty. I think you will enjoy it! Good luck.

Ok! 1 pm smoker is heated with smoke just put in the meat.Its a 3.5 lb shoulder so id say dinner may be abit late but who cares.How often should i check the meats temp?Heres a few pics.I dont really know exact temp in the smoker!they say its designed to operate at about 225.I have the el cheapo meter and you can see it in one of the pics.Pics taken at 1pm.I put a small handfull of soaked hic wood chips in foil and wraped it up then punched holes into it.Smoking pretty good!Will this last thru the whole cooking? maybe 6 hrs
3:30 Update! made my first temp check of the pork!its about 140.Not sure if this is normal after 2.5 hrs.Water is not boiling!guess cooker cant be too hot!i may need to find a way to get it hotter in the future,Its still smoking but not as much as before!may need to add fresh chips.
5 pm update! Temp is now around 165 Here is a new pic!Man! am i getting hungry!It smells and looks so yummy.
d825d4b5_vbattach14018.jpg

3589b4c9_vbattach14015.jpg

41fa9935_vbattach14013.jpg

c8f5f111_vbattach14014.jpg

The water in the pan doesn't need to be boiling. It is heating it and the steam and evaporation will help keep the meat moist.