Thanksgiving Turkey

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

DUB_Echo

Original poster
Sep 7, 2021
I know everyone is getting their smokers ready for thanksgiving-
I smoked a turkey the last 2 thanksgivings using indirect heating on my propane Webber grill. They both came out great. First year was about 8lb last year was about 12lb.
this year my wife bought an 18lb turkey!
it’s a little daunting. I’ve been digging around the forum and have been seeing a lot of conflicting info. Some people say have to spatchcock it cause it’s too big, others saying no problem smoke away.
I’m definitely worried about getting out of the danger zone in time.
I’m planning on doing a wet brine (bought a Kinders brine kit)
I have a Masterbuilt MS30 electric smoker.
Any input is very appreciated.

Also, if anyone has good tutorial on making gravy from the dripping send it my way!

Reactions: cardsfan
As far as the turkey unless it has changed recently the USDA doesn't recommend smoking a turkey over 12 lbs.
That being said you can spatchcock it and be ok or you can smoke it at high temp like 325-350 at which point the smoker becomes like an oven with smoke added.

I know everyone is getting their smokers ready for thanksgiving-
I smoked a turkey the last 2 thanksgivings using indirect heating on my propane Webber grill. They both came out great. First year was about 8lb last year was about 12lb.
this year my wife bought an 18lb turkey!
it’s a little daunting. I’ve been digging around the forum and have been seeing a lot of conflicting info. Some people say have to spatchcock it cause it’s too big, others saying no problem smoke away.
I’m definitely worried about getting out of the danger zone in time.