Thank you

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

goofy Yno

Original poster
Mar 24, 2022
Oklahoma city
Hi,
I'm a newbie who just bought a cheepo charcoal off set grill. I'm doing a crash course as I am planning on smoking a brisket for a gathering in three week. I have been "eating up" the information on this board. Thank you.

My first attempt was smoking a salmon, which ended up tasting great, despite my temperature fluctuations. Trying to stay low, 175 early and up to 225 later worked for the most part (except when i let the fire go out :(. Oh well. I was playing with charcoal and apple wood chunks.

My next test will be my practice Brisket. we shall see....

Hi,
I'm a newbie who just bought a cheepo charcoal off set grill. I'm doing a crash course as I am planning on smoking a brisket for a gathering in three week. I have been "eating up" the information on this board. Thank you.

My first attempt was smoking a salmon, which ended up tasting great, despite my temperature fluctuations. Trying to stay low, 175 early and up to 225 later worked for the most part (except when i let the fire go out :(. Oh well. I was playing with charcoal and apple wood chunks.

More pictures please.

Last edited:
Welcome to SMF. You may want to get a few more cooks in before the brisket. are thinking a full packer or??

Hi,

Hi there and welcome!
A good way to practice for brisket is to do a Pork Butt/Shoulder.
  • This will educate you on how your smoker behaves on a long smoke. Pork butts and briskets don't care what temp you smoke them at as long as you aren't burning them
  • You will also learn what your process(es) may need to do such a long smoke.