Storying Pellets?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Atl1530

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Jun 6, 2019
Atlanta
I’m new to this, so if I asked stupid questions, please give me a break.

All right, so I picked up an A-Maze-N tube and a 40-pound bag of 100% hickory pellets. The 40-pound bag was the best price point for the 100% hickory bags on Amazon.

My guess is it’s going to take me a long time to go through 40 pounds. I live in Atlanta, Georgia where the humidity is high. What’s the best way to store pellets? I thought I could vacuum pack them in usable quantities.

Is there a better way?

Thanks

Clean, well sealed plastic container.

Chris

Get a couple 5 gallon buckets from home depot with lids. You could vac seal them but not sure if that's necessary unless you just want to. I usually zap mine in the microwave for 60 seconds before I light them up to suck out any extra moisture

The only issue I've had is cement. Don't let the bags sit on cement. it will draw the moisture out of your pellets and turn them to dust. If you're storing pellets in a shop or garage that has a cement floor don't set them on the floor but put a piece of plastic or plywood down and set them on the plastic or wood. Other than that, I open a 40# bag and just roll up the top when not in use.

IMG_0073.JPG
If you don't ask questions, you won't learn. We are especially open to all asking questions. There are no stupid questions, only stupid people making fun of anyone asking, and those we ban. Feel free to ask! Thank you for asking, so others will know too!

I store mine in plastic coffee cans outside on our back porch.

https://www.smokingmeatforums.com/threads/bestcob®-corn-cob-pellets-for-amnps.149282/

Attachments

• IMG_0066.JPG