Smoking time and temp help

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ncinflorida

Original poster
Aug 22, 2014
Florida
My second try smoking a 3.5 Boston butt in my masterbuilt, the meat stalled at 155 for a long while after 5 hours so I decided to go ahead and wrap it and put it back in and raise the temp. I can't get the the internal temp to move above 166 or so, I raised the smoker temp to 275. What should I do? It seems that it's taking far too long to smoke a small butt but then again I'm new at smoking... But also a life long fanatic of quality eastern Carolina style pulled pork. Any advice would be welcomed

Welcome ,NCinflorida . To our world , hope you find this a place to stay.
biggrin.gif
 Please go to your profile and your location and also go to RollCall and get a big welcome from the bunch.

Now , your querry , Butts are notorious for stalling and yours could go 8 hrs. or so... don't turn it up , just be patient.

As you get into more Smoking , we'll be able to help you clarify your problems.

Have fun and . . .

Thanks OSBbq, I'm a 'bbq snob' and am now trying to master my skills as a smoker. Very frustrating and trying to learning the process. My first smoke was terrible, tough and over cooked. So I've been reading the forums for advice and decided to join and post.

Last edited: