Smoking in confined spaces

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

uptownmike

Original poster
Aug 8, 2011
Hello,

I'm looking to start smoking my own meats.  I live in Chicago in a twelve unit condo.  I have a porch out back with electricity.  I'm trying to determine the best smoker for a smaller area that won't be a nuisance to my neighbors.  I don't know where to start.

Are electric smokers "evil"?  Do they go against the ethos of smoking?  Do they consistently render a sub-standard product?  With my set up, I have to make space a consideration, but don't want to sacrifice size to the point where I can't smoke a decent sized brisket.  Plus, since I'm a newb, I need it to be as user-friendly as possible.  I can do propane if necessary, but electric would be more convenient.

Please help.  Thanks.

Look at the MES 30.... Get one of them and an AMAZEN smoke tool..

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/search.php?search=MES+30  

Welcome..

This site has tons of info.

I would suggest you spend some time reading all the different forums and the WIKIs.

Then use the handy dandy search tool for specific interests!!

Take the awesome free E-Course!!!

Have a great day!!!

Craig

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/wiki/about-jeffs-5-day-ecourse

Make bacon the easy way!!
http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/forum/thread/109368/more-easy-made-bacon-with-q-view#post_666451

Yes electric is evil.    But there are many very happy watt burners on this forum.  I think that will be your best option.  No open flame, easily controllable amount of smoke.