Smoked Venison Snack Sticks

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Greeno17

Original poster
Dec 6, 2018
I recently got into making my own snack sticks. I got a Masterbuilt smoker and all the equipment for snack sticks and brat making.

I have made about 4 batches of snack sticks (all 6lb batches, 4lbs of venison and 2 lbs of pork) and I have a few questions about them. They all have been editable and good, but I am reading that most are smoking them for anywhere from 4 to 8 hours? I smoke mine at 180 degrees for 2 hours with smoke and then for an additional 1 hour at 180 without smoke, and that's it. Should i be doing this longer? They taste good and they are not dried out, they have good juice in them, but i think that really anything over 4 hours would turn our dried out?

My internal temp thermometer reads around 130 degrees when all said and done but im not sure how accurate it is.

Thanks,
Justin

Justin Are you using cure #1 in your mix?
130 degrees is a very low temp I would suggest you get a dependable thermo probe.
Snack sticks are normally finished to a IT of 150 degrees
Richie

I mostly use the Backwoods Hot Snack Stick seasoning, which has the cure packet with it.

I mostly use the Backwoods Hot Snack Stick seasoning, which has the cure packet with it.

According to the instructions on their web page.
  • "Stuff into sheep casings or 17-21mm collagen casings and smoke in smoker or cook in oven at 180°F. until the internal temperature reaches 165°F."