Smoked Cured pork loin is it right?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kvn

Fire Starter
Original poster
Feb 20, 2021
Community,

I am a newbie to curing meat and I'm not sure if it was done correctly.

I used a cure recipe from the Hungarian smoked pork loin and I did use Instacure/Cure#1. That doesn't contain nitrates.

Im had it in the cure solution for 10 days, then I had it hanging in cold smoker for 3 days. Is it ok to eat? does it need heat?

I tried a piece after I shut smoker off about 12 hrs after and it tasted good, I just don't know .

So I broke down and put on Traeger at lowest setting.

Sorry the cure does have both nitrate and nitrites.

Tell us a little more about the recipe. How much water, how much salt, and how much cure? Also need to know meat green weight.

I used the exact breakdown that another thread had a bout Hungarian smoked Karaj. im a newbie and I used that recipe let me see if i can find

Ingredients as percentage of meat weight.

2.8% Salt
0.3% Cure #2
0.25% Sugar
0.8% Black Pepper
0.6% Hungarian Paprika
0.15% Garlic Powder

Mix together salt, Cure #2 and other ingredients.
Rub the mixture into the loin.
Place into a plastic bag and leave for 7-10 days in fridge.
Remove loin from refrigerator and brush off the excess salt. Dry to touch.
Apply thin cold smoke for 1-3 days
Hang loin at 46º , 72-80% humidity for one month to equalize.
Dry loins for 3 weeks at 68-72º.
Füstölt Karaj is ready when it loses about 40% of its original weight

That was from that Master smoker digdog something

Reactions: SmokinEdge
Sorry the cure does have both nitrate and nitrites.

So you used cure #2 ?