Showing the OK Joe Highland mods I have done. Photo heavy.Thanks everybody.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Tallbald

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Jan 2, 2018
Southern KY
I'm very new to smoking meats and such and financial constraints limited what I could spend on a new, serious smoker. With some help from here and some time spent on study of Youtube videos I've made what I hope are helpful modifications to my wonderful affordable OK Joe Highland smoker. Materials were mostly free (the old smoker) but did require my determined time.
One mod, the smokestack extension inside the cook chamber to just above the main grid,, is unlike any I've seen before and is my own approach. It uses a cheap steel bread loaf baking pan cut on one end and rolled over to eliminate sharp edges. I used BBQ RTV and BBQ gasket to seal it against the end of the cook chamber with the closed end above the exhaust opening in the chamber. Open end of course at the bottom about a half inch above the grid. It seems to take very little grid space and can't be bumped out of place easily. Two homemade flat steel clamps with a bent long edge, and one bolt each hold it firmly in place.
The steel baffles are made from the old rotted out smoker cut to size and hammered flat on my bench but they may be spaced too closely. I'm learning and suggestions appreciated.
The upper firebox vent was salvaged from the old smoker, trimmed to shape, and a template was made from the old smoker vent hole and transferred to the OK Joe firebox upper half. Drilling, saber sawing , and filing to shape gave me an adjustable vent I can be happy with. I did spray paint it too thickly and got some runs----I have that trouble a lot.