Ruined Pork Butt

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bigbluesmoker

Original poster
Jun 15, 2014
Been smoking on and off for the past year now, did a pork butt late last year and turned out pretty well. Just used a rub and that was pretty much it and it turned out pretty well.

Today, however, after reading quite a bit and watching some videos, I decided to get a little fancier than usual. I used a rub and injected the meat with a combination of apple juice and Worcestershire sauce. I have a Masterbuilt analog electric smoker and wanted to smoke a 4 lb bone in butt, today. I have an oven thermometer to make sure I was sitting around 250, which I was and also a meat thermometer, that I kept in the butt to make sure I hit my internal temps.

I was a little surprised when it took only about 2.5 - 3 hours to get to 160, at which point I took it out, spritzed it and wrapped it and re-inserted the meat thermometer. Took me about another hour to hour and a half to hit 197, which is what I was looking for. Took the meat out and let it rest for about 45 minutes. I used a different meat thermometer to check the internal temp and it was about 189 I believe. I assumed it had dropped some degrees just sitting there on the counter top wrapped up.

Went to pull the bone out and I couldn't get it out. The meat was really tough and I just considered it ruined at that point. I just don't understand, all my temps were spot on and I have no idea where I went wrong. Funny thing was, a few weeks ago, I had almost exactly the same thing happene to me, and I later figured out the temp gauge on my smoker was completely off by more than 50 degrees. So I assumed buying the internal probe would fix my problem but apparently not.