Rookie with a Couple of Questions

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Art17

Original poster
Jan 14, 2019
Just used my smoker for the first time last night. I have a Traeger Silverton. I smoked a tri tip and it turned out delicious. Couple of total noob questions though. On the the Traeger site there's instructions for tri tip that say to set it at 225 for 1 to 1.5 hours and then when you get an IT of 135, take the meat off, crank the Traeger to high, and sear each side for 4 minutes. This is what I ended up doing but it took me closer to 3.5 hours to reach IT 135 on a 3 lb tri tip. Does that sound right? Why such a difference? And this is a total rookie question, but should the meat probe that comes with the Traeger be left in the meat while cooking or should I periodically check?

Thanks for any help.

Welcome to the site, sorry I can't help you out with your question as I'm not a pellet pooper. The weather or size of the meat may have played a role in the length of cook time.

Chris

Not sure on the traeger side of things but do know several other brands of smokers...the included meat probes are notorious for being off. I would invest in a good wireless thermometer like a thermopro.

Secondly this more has to do how well done you like your meat. Taking it to 135 and then searing each side for 4 minutes is going to give you a medium-medium well done. I tend to take mine more to the 115-120ish range and then sear it for a nice char on the outside still get medium rare I like on the inside.

I’m sure one of the pellet guys will come along shortly and be able to answer better but figured I’d throw that out there.

Dilly Dilly