rookie smoker looking for advice

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

yoyohomieg5432

Original poster
Jun 12, 2011
Hi everyone

I recently got a smoker and have been trying to teach myself how to smoke ribs.  I have a masterbuilt 7 in 1 smoker i believe it was called and cost around $150.  I have smoked ribs twice now but both times I wasn't completely satisfied.  Both times they seemed drier than I would like and I don't know why they are dry or what I can do to prevent this.  I'm going to list out what I did and hopefully someone can point it out:

1) I marinated them overnight (at least 12 hours)

2) About an hour before smoking i put a rub on it and let it sit at room temp

3) At this time i also began so soak my mesquite chips

4)My smoker has a "flame disk bowl" that i put the chips in and also a water bowl that i put water on

5) I got the smoker going and put the ribs on.

6) The ribs were on the smoker for 4 hours and I kept it very close to 200 degrees the whole time.  Everywhere I've read this seemed to be the recommended temp and time.

7) At about 3 hours i began to brush the sauce onto the ribs

Should I try less time on the smoker?  Or bringing the temp even lower than 200? 

I've never seen someone else smoke ribs before but I don't actually see too much smoke coming from the smoker is this normal or am i doing something wrong?  It seems that I get a decent amount of smoke for the first hour or 2 maybe but then the smoking just kind of stops and I don't know why.  Any advice on this as well?

Thanks

Hi everyone