Rolled Bacon for ABT’s

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Bud J

Fire Starter
Original poster
Aug 3, 2020
I am fairly new to ABT’s and wanted to share something that may already be obvious to many.
While reading posts and watching videos on ABT’s, just about all say that your bacon must be thin.
Well, to me, the bacon by Oscar Meyer is thin but now that I need it, naturally can’t find it anymore. So I recall someone (maybe here) mentioned about rolling bacon to make it thinner. I tried that tonight and it worked great. I was able to take a 12” slice and thin it to 18” with one easy roll.
But what I really like is that with rolling you can now buy quality bacon without worrying about it being too thick.
Just roll between wax paper. Thanks to whomever thought of this simple fix.

5B741162-4871-410B-8A4F-E4F88E9402C8.jpeg
DE812494-67CA-405E-91B9-0110FA644114.jpeg

You know the old expression, "you learn something every day?" I just did. :emoji_thumbsup:
Not just a good tip for ABT's but for many years I made pig candy for football Sunday pot lucks at my neighborhood watering hole. I had to shop especially for the thin bacon. Now (if we ever have have a pot luck or a football game) I can use this technique. (Beef Li'll Smokies with 1/3 strip of bacon seasoned with brown sugar and cayenne, smoked until the bacon is crispy.... the Smokies take care of themselves. )

Many thanks!!!

EABnTkq.jpg

Well there ya go, taking it as far as it'll go.
A good tip to make make your piggie squeal louder/longer in a pinch.

I've stretched my bacon, but never rolled it out.

You can use thick cut bacon instead of thin cut in a couple of different ways.
1) Pre-cook the bacon before using it to wrap the item.