Recent loss is cause for lots of thought

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kansas city

Original poster
Jul 8, 2017
Kansas City,MO
Hello all I've been smoking for about 3 years on a mes that has recently kicked the bucket. So now I'm trying to decide what to do build one or buy one. Most of the time I'm smoking meats in small amounts with the occasional party here and there but I'm interested in maybe trying some local competitions to see if I enjoy it or not. I really want to build my own because I like building things and have the fab skills to do it. But, I'm also not sure if that's the best route to go. What's everyone's opinions on reverse flow and insulated firebox or completely insulated smokers? Also what are good options if I was going to buy one?

Are you wanting to buy or build another electric or something else? There are a lot of experienced builders here so I'm sure you can get whatever help you need. If you're looking to purchase another type of smoker, what is your budget, what are your needs and we can narrow it down.

I'd like to try a stick burner electric was okay but ready to put on my big boy pants and try something that takes a little more attention . If I buy one budget be around $1000-$1300. Like I said as far a needs I do lots of small cooks with the occasional bigger cook for a party but I'm interested in trying some competitions for fun. I don't really want a trailer type right now cause I'm not sure if I'll like competitions. I don't want something that I'll immediately out grow. All thoughts and opions are welcome and much appreciated.

Last edited: