Questions About Purchasing a Pellet Grill/Smoker and Steel Thickness

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

wbhoward

Original poster
May 8, 2017
Hi everyone.  I'm Brad, live in Texas and I'm new to this forum.  I'm also on the verge of making a  investment in a new grill/smoker.  Up to now, I've just been grilling with a Weber propane grill.   I'm also new to cooking with a wood pellet grill and I'm looking for some sound advice.   I have a general question.  I've seen a lot of mention in other threads on this site and elsewhere about this smoker being better than that smoker, etc.  However, I'm not going to mention a name of any smoker here because I believe that might taint opinions because a lot of people are biased when it comes to what they own.  Instead I am going to mention grill characteristics.  Now in anyone's response here, feel free to mention a specific smoker/grill by name but I'm not going to do so on this end, at least not with my first post here.

So here it goes:  I'm looking at two different grills/smokers.  I'm looking them to be configured the same:  on competition carts for easier mobility, with a second shelf and a grill cover so I can keep it looking nice for years to come.

Grill #1, with the second shelf and grill cover, is almost $2300.  Grill #2 with the same configuration is $1775.  Of course, each is about $215.00 to ship so we are talking about $2510 drive out price for one vs. $1990 for the other, and this is before other accessories such as a smoke kit or sear kit.