Pulled pork with time constraints-best way?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

medicine man

Fire Starter
Original poster
Sep 24, 2005
South Fla
I work as a firefighter and bring in my smoker on weekends. I can usually get the butt in by 8:30 and we try to eat by 6. In my experience, this is not long enough to get a 5-6# butt up to 205* when the smoker is at 220*, so in the past I've ended up pulling and foiling it at 3 p.m, finishing in the oven.

Should I up the temp to 250* for the entire smoke or just keep doing what I'm doing. Or should I be doing something different to get (3) 5-6# butts done in 9 hrs?

Thx as always,

Aaron

Taking the smoker up to the 240-250° range will not hurt a butt, as there is lots of fat. I usually do mine in that temp range.

Hope this helps!

Take care, have fun, and do good!

Regards,

Meowey

250* won't hurt a long smoke, especially when you might be wrapping at some point.

Aaron,

First of all thank you for choosing such an honorable profession. As dangerous as my own work can be yours requires a totally selfless commitment.

As for the butts, hmmnnn!

If butts were predictable and there was a surefire answer I'd like to see it all in print!

Truely good quality Q depends on time, not timing. It is done when the thermometer says not when the timer says.

With all that said, why not prepare your butts at home and take in to warm up? That will take the pressure off the timing and you can be assured of an excellent result.

I also have a question. What happens to the smoker when you get toned out? Is there anyone who can watch it for you?