Pork Butt & Spare Ribs on new WSM 18"

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

paulfalco12

Original poster
Apr 11, 2016
Hey guys, I am new to smoking, and yesterday gave it a shot. I smoked 2 butts last year on a Brinkman smoke and grill and was discouraged due to the lack of air flow and constant need to add charcoal. Got the WSM 18" as a gift and what a beautiful smoker. I had a 9.5 LB butt from my local grocery store, and 2 racks of spare ribs in a cyrovac pack. I will get to that later. The evening before i put rub on the pork butt and put in fridge overnight. I got up early in the morning, 530AM Eastern Time. I prepared the smoker, got it up to about 300 degrees with a full chimney of charcoal, using the minion method. Put the butt on at around 640 AM. Around this time i added about 5 chunks of apple wood. About every 90 minutes would spray the butt with apple juice. I've watched how Aaron Franklin trims spare ribs so i kind of had an idea. I opened the cyrovac pack which, the smell, my goodness is awful. I have never purchased meat in a cyrovac and was nervous when i smelt this putrid odor. I did some research on the forums and found that this is normal and to rinse the meat with water, which i did and the smell dissipated. I started to trim the ribs, and remove the membrane. This left much extra meat, which i wound up putting in the freezer and will put on the BBQ this week. Any suggestions for that? :)  After trimming, put the rub on and put in fridge for about an hour.  When the butt got to 160 degrees, i took off the grill, wrapped, and poured a mixture over. Wrapped it back up, put back on and put thermometer back through it. Also at this time I put the ribs on, bone side down. Also found that the temp of the s