Pork Belly Burnt Ends (step by step) and is there a PBBEA?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

petehalsted

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
Jun 28, 2015
Is there a Pork Belly Burnt Ends Anonymous organization, I think I need a meeting

I have my recipe down exactly as I want it, but that is in the MES30, this is my first time doing them in the All-Star with charcoal.

Well apparently I can reproduce them on either smoker, these things are unbelievable.

Here is my step by step

1. Cube Pork Belly, I try to make them a perfect 6 sides cube, about 1 1/2 inchs on all sides

2. I spritz with Pineapple juice, generous dose of my Pork Rub, wait a few, rotate and repeat until I have all 6 sides covered, I want bark everywhere!

3. Get smoker stabilized around 225
Today it was the All-Star running Royal Oak Hardwood Briquettes, with a couple chunks of Pecan, Apple and Cherry tossed in occasionally.

4. In go the cubes right on the grate for 3 hours, at which point they have a nice bark

5. Into foil pan, with 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup honey and 1 1/2 sticks of butter cut into thick pats
Today I did a double batch (5 pounds) so it was 2 pans as above

6. Cover the foil pans

7. Back in the smoker for 1 hour 45 minutes, when you pull them back out the IT should be around 200 - 205 on them