Pork belly and Ribs out of Pops Brine

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

johngolf01

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Feb 9, 2017
I've been wet curing two small bellies and also a slab of ribs in Pops brine for about 12 days. When I pulled them out of the brine to cold smoke today I noticed some non pink brownish edges on the outside of some of the pieces however one I cut through the center it is red and cured through. Is this normal? I did my best to cut away some of the brown parts but that may have been unnecessary. This is my first time using a wet cure so I appreciate any feedback. Also the meat and brine had no smell and there were no slime in the brine.

Currently being cold smoked in my mes 30 with Maple pellets in the amaze tray.

Thanks, John from Ohio

Completely normal, that's just where the oxygen in the water was hitting the meat.

No need to cut it off.

Well here is the two small bellies and Ribs. I smoked the day I took it out of the brine for 6 hours then put it in the fridge overnight and I smoked it another 7 hours today. Used Maple pellets cold smoked in my mes 30,, was hoping for more color. Going to let it sit in the fridge for a few days and then I'll report back after I try.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20171013-231143.png
    Screenshot_20171013-231143.png
    2.1 MB · Views: 85
  • NwdbJFxu-312182241.jpg
    NwdbJFxu-312182241.jpg
    290.1 KB · Views: 86
Wish I didn't waste some of those pieces but wanted to error on the safe side for my first attempt