pellets going out, or barely smoking.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

$mok!ng

Fire Starter
Original poster
Apr 12, 2019
NE Michigan
I have a AMNPS for my masterbuilt and have successfully used it for years. Recently I upgraded my units controller to an Auber and since then (possibly coincidence) my pellets seem to not smoke much, if at all. I used to get about 4 hours per row on the AMNPS, which is typical, now I am lucky to be able to keep the pellets smoking. The pellets are the same I have always used, as I bought a 40lb sack and keep them in a bucket with lid. I dont put any water or liquid in my smoke box so thats not the issue. I also have been warming the pellets in the oven prior to lighting them, to warm them up and maybe dry them out (doubt they need it). Warming the pellets does seem to help but I am getting very limited smoke and a row is lasting significantly longer than it used to. I have tried moving the exhaust vent (typically wide open) to no avail. Do I need to drill extra holes in the old smoke tray to bring in more oxygen? Any other tips?

Wow, wish I could help but I'm at a loss. Only thing that comes to mind that could have changed is pellet moisture or air flow.

What were you getting for hours prior to the Auber upgrade?

Your AMNPS might actually being working the way was intended (10+ hours of smoke).

I get about 4 hours per row, which would be about 12 hours total. I was thinking the pellets but I just cant see how they would have gone bad, in a bucket with a lid on it. I could probably get about 8 hours per row at its current rate, which would be half the smoke I should be getting.