Not sure where to start kamado cooker, pellet smoker, or something else?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

nomad_archer

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Oct 21, 2019
Brickerville, PA
I am new to smoking meat. I have enjoyed some delicious smoked meats my friends has prepared the past few years on his masterbuilt electric cabinet smoker. This weekend the wife and I stopped at the local hardware store where they were doing a demo with the BGE and Traegars. We loved the free samples and I finally got the blessing from my wife to get something to smoke some meat.

I am now in research mode and am not sure where I want to go. I currently have a small portable weber propane grill, and a 36" blackstone griddle. The primary objective of my next purchase will be to smoke pork, chicken, beef, wild game, smoked mac & cheese etc. However I like the versatility that is marketed with both the kamado style cookers and pellet poppers and having the ability to use them as more than just a smoker. I am looking for something that is lower maintenance during the cook and wont need tended to every hour.

Some of my requirements are:
1. It needs to be somewhat portable because for the time being it will be stored in my garage and I will roll it out into the driveway for use. Eventually I will build the patio and cook station in the backyard but that is a year or so out.

2. It needs to work in the winter. I am in PA and it does get cold in the winter and I don't want a cooker that is only good for warmer weather.

3. Budget: I have a soft max of 2K or less. I want to buy once and not be replacing parts and or the whole unit in a few years.