Newbie here, two smokes in two days.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

SmithPen

Original poster
Jul 5, 2020
Neighbor just sold me his Masterbuilt electric smoker, model 20073716.
For the first smoke, it was a large sirloin on top and 4 boneless chicken breasts on bottom.
I used a combination of cherry and hickory chips. I was prepared for the long wait, and was amazed that all was done within 40 minutes with smoker set around 230.
Meat was overcooked, sadly.
Neighbor came over when meat was coming out. He noticed large amounts of what appeared to be chatted paint on inside of door, on all interiors except for bottom. While we chatted about it, said chatted areas started to bubble and scraped off some on door. See pics.

I took the entire smoker apart, except for element, which I could not remove. I scraped as much paint off with a razor blade, then pressure washed entire unit. I then reassembled unit, sprayed entire interior with oil and seasoned for 1.5 hours.

Next up was a 5.5lb 2 year old brisket, that I consider to be a sacrificial piece of meet. Smoke at 230-250 for 6:20. Sadly, it was done too late for supper, but will try it today.

Positive note, did not see anymore paint issues.

Attachments

• IMG_20200704_090747229.jpg
    IMG_20200704_090747229.jpg
    115.8 KB · Views: 30
  • IMG_20200704_090741955.jpg
    IMG_20200704_090741955.jpg
    157.9 KB · Views: 32
  • IMG_20200704_090738191.jpg
    IMG_20200704_090738191.jpg
    206.2 KB · Views: 31
  • IMG_20200704_090718278.jpg
    IMG_20200704_090718278.jpg
    158.3 KB · Views: 32
Reactions: JC in GB