New to smoking, and hoping to get going on my first smoke next weekend!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

-c0de-

Original poster
May 9, 2016
Tennessee
Hello from Tennessee!

I am new to smoking, but not new to eating smoked meats. I'm hoping to enjoy a new hobby and break away from the monotony of just grilling foods, which I normally do a few times a week.

I have a Landmann Smoky Mountain 3895GWLA that I just ordered, and I am hoping to do my first smoke in next weekend.

So, if there is a **must do** first smoke food that is the easiest way for me to break into this new hobby, let me know!

Thanks,

-c0de-

Welcome c0de!
You picked a great place to come and learn some things about your new hobby! My vote for the first " must do" is a 10 pound bone in pork butt for a traditional pulled pork. It's a forgiving hunk of meat, tastes awesome, feeds a lot of people, and confidence booster! Keep us posted on how it goes!

Thanks Bauch! This is exactly what I had planned on doing. I love brisket, but my wife loves pork bbq more, so I figured if I could win her over first, then she would support my new hobby!