New to Q-View

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

dirtworldmike

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Sep 25, 2009
roaming shores, ohio
Hi all

I'm new with the Q-view but not to the site. I've been lurking around for a few years. Anyway, The weather kinda broke here in NE Ohio this week and I need a Q fix BAD!  . Tuesday I did  two racks of spares  trimmed St. Lewie style with the trimmings for some beans and a 7lb. shoulder for pulled pork. Here's the details.

I rubbed the ribs  with mustard then with Weber's Kansas City Style BBQ Rub and a little extra brown sugar. Normally I don't use store bought rubs but this one looked and tasted pretty good out of the bottle. For the shoulder I rubbed with mustard and the Weber's and no extra brown sugar. In the fridge overnight and into the GOSM at 7 am next morning using hickory and mesquite chunks. Set the Big Block to 230.

Pulled ribs after 3 hrs on smoke, wrapped in foil with some butter, brown sugar and a 50/50 mix of apple cider vinegar and apple juice.

Then back in for 2.5 hrs. I kinda of cheated a little on this as I finished rid glaze in the oven under the broiler so I wouldn't have to keep opening the smoker door while the shoulder was still going. I made the rib glaze mixing ketchup. brown sugar,apple cider vinegar,garlic power, onion power,cayenne pepper,black pepper and chili power a few drops of mustard and Franks Hot sauce.  When I took the foiled ribs out of the smoker I wrapped and probed the shoulder with the Maverick .IT was 150 and pulled shoulder out when it hit 205. Wrapped shoulder in a couple of bath towels in put in a cooler for 2 hrs.  Now for the Q-View, I hope?

6f816814_pics163.jpg

Ribs all rubbed up

dc030692_pics173.jpg