New smoker looking for help

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Ranch_Man17

Original poster
Jun 25, 2019
Hello,

I’m a novice griller in Phoenix and just purchased a Green Mountain Prime (DB). Trying to figure out how to make good boneless chicken breasts as my last two haven’t gone very well. Everything I’ve found is to set to about 450 and cook for 15 min per side which does not seem to be long enough (yet every recipe suggests roughly same temp/time). Parts of the chicken are still pink and partially raw/chewy. I feel like 450 for 30 minutes should be more than enough time to cook all the thorough.

Would cooking it longer or at a hotter temp result in dry chicken? Will a smoker typically create a pink color in various spots? I just purchased a grill grates sear station and wondering if I should use that for chicken as well?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

In my opinion, a pellet grill is not the best tool for chicken breast, especially if they are boneless/skinless. They will just dry out too much. Much better to grill them hot over direct where you can pay close attention. Some folks will brine them and that helps them retain moisture. But I find the surface of the meat gets tough either way. Better to use bone in, skin on if you want to cook in a pellet grill. Or better yet, thighs.

Reactions: SneakyBlackDog