New Propane Smoker.... Heat Issue

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

joeyfine

Fire Starter
Original poster
Apr 25, 2013
Akron, OH
Hello All..

I got a master built pro mds 230s dual fuel smoker the other day and i am having some issues. trying to get the temp up to 225 i am having combustion issues with the flame and the wood. I feel like the wood chip pan is poorly made with the stupid vents in it. Is there something i can do to keep my wood from bursting into flames and keeping my temps normal?

Welcome! Have the same smoker. I learned most guys use a CI pan instead of the chip pan. Definitely helps with flare ups and adds a little thermal mass. My smoker had the opposite issue. She always wanted to run hot. Some guys instal needle valves but I caved and went MES. That said, smoked some killer stuff on the dual fuel and it's a beet move for poultry since it can hit higher temps. Best of luck!

You can cover the chip pan with foil that has a few pencil sized holes in it for air supply... Or you can use chunks...
1 singular piece of wood will not burn... use 2, you can have a fire... DO NOT STACK THE WOOD... I use what I call "cookies" in one of my smokers and they work great... I use Alder for smoking salmon.. I cut them on my miter saw or use a saws-all.. so oil is not introduced...

..... 67502bb8_Hotplatecookiespan.jpg

Thanks guys. I did the foil trick but i had about 40 pounds of pork shoulder in the smoker and the flames eventually broke through the foil. it was a messy flare up. So do you put the wood next to the burner daveomak daveomak ?

Not using the water pan AKA drip tray? Line with foil and pitch when cool.