New guy here.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

clash

Original poster
Oct 2, 2011
Haslett, MI
Hello, this is a great forum! I recently purchased a Brinkman smoke n pit that was on sale at HD and am immersing myself into culinary godliness. I'm a rookie smoker but very capable in the kitchen and the BBQ. Today I am taking my first stab at some baby backs. So far the kids and I have been having a blast seasoning the grill, foraging for bricks and wrapping them with tin foil, who would have thunk that smoking is a family activity.

I look forward to chatting and getting smoker/meat advice.

welcome1.gif
   Glad to have you with us!

welcome1.gif
 aboard, and its wonderful to hear that you are making this adventure a "Family" affair!!  Too little of that going on these days.  My hat is off to you sir!

Rich

welcome1.gif

I had a lonely Brinkman to give away:

e8d00415_parkdaywiththekids036.jpg

I've got three post about it and no-one wants the poor little thing
icon_cry.gif

Thanks all I will post some pic's although I did not get pics of the finished product, it was delicious but I quickly realized how bad I need a good chamber thermometer and am contemplating the turkey fryer burner mod which I do plan on smoking through the fall and winter so I think its essential but first I am going to try and master the old fashioned wood/charcoal. The next foray will be chickens since I can experiment and they are MUCH cheaper. My ultimate goal is to do a brisket, my daughter eye balled that slab of meat at the butcher so we have the same goal.