Need some advise on making deer jerky

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

tgrimmett

Fire Starter
Original poster
Dec 9, 2013
West Virginia
I am wanting to try to make some deer jerky . I like the terriaki beef jerky so does any one have a terriaki marinade , and what temperature an how long do I smoke it I will be using a offsett smoker an hickory wood . Brooke

Thanks, I think I found a good marinade I will like. It does not use a cure. I've been reading an it some people use it some dnt if u don't will it be safe to eat?

Hey Brooke, not every batch of jerky but a lot of them I use Hi Mountain Jerky Seasoning. I've been using their product off & on for 20+ years. It comes in a kit with the cure, seasoning & everything ya need to make great jerky ! Now they are just over the Teton's from me in Wyoming and I see your over in the East but they do have a website and their product is great..... Makes great jerky outta venison. I don't think you'd regret checking them out & they do have a teriyaki blend !

Adding nitrite is a safe bet.... here is one manufacturer's list of ingredients....

Ingredients: beef, salt, spices, sugar, monosodium glutamate, garlic powder, dextrose, sodium nitrite.