MYPIN PID TA4 Controller for electric smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Frankyvee

Original poster
Jan 29, 2022
Sorry if this has been asked. I'm new to the forum and tried searching for an answer to my question and did not see any so I decided to post this. Is there anyone on here using a MYPIN PID on their smoker? I have an analog MasterBuilt electric smoker and the thermostat that it came with is crap. It has like a 30 degree swing. So I just built a PID controller using the MYPIN TA4 model to control temperature with tighter tolerances. I was looking for the best settings to use on the PID to use for smoking on an electric smoker. I'm a bit overwhelmed with all the settings in the menu and the chinese instructions are not much help since they are poorly translated. I have tried using the P I D settings and Autotune function and seems like it is still swinging. Let me know if anyone has experience with the settings and what you found to be the best settings for smoking for example a brisket at 225 F for ~8 -12 hours or till 203F internal temp is reached. I like to wrap the brisket when it reaches 170 F and put it back in till 203 F then pull it off and rest it for an hour wrapped.

I used the PID for my electric brew system, just did an auto tune for boil temps. You should be able to do an auto tune for a specific temp while using the smoker. Just be sure it has an average load in it. Tuning while empty won't give you good results.

Reactions: Frankyvee