More Smoked Turkey Legs -- Pics

Discussion in 'Poultry' started by thoseguys26, Mar 21, 2012.

1. thoseguys26

thoseguys26 Master of the Pit

My friends wiped out my smoked turkey leg stash last weekend so it's time to restock. I typically just follow the brine solution recipe on the back of Mortons Tender Quick and then add my own spices to that. I'll brine it for 24hrs and smoke for 4-5 hrs at 230°

I'm still experimenting with all of the variables to see if I like something different. So far, all of the legs have come out fantastic so either I'm a phenomenal cook, keep getting lucky, or having a MES 40 paired with a amzns makes smoking easy as it could be! 

This time, I tried four legs with different spice rubs. From left to right, on the bottom rack, Creole, Chili Powder, maple syrup w/jalapeno powder, & maple syrup w/ cayenne powder. Even if I don't approve the finished product, they'll still be eaten.

I'll be back in a couple hours with the final pics and results!

Swimming in Brine

[​IMG]

Rinsed Off

[​IMG]

Smoking Made Easy Thanks to the A-Maze-N smoker!!

[​IMG]

SmokeN

** MES TIP ** Ok, this may be a stupid tip but I use it all the time. The MES door always closes on it's own, even when you're trying to load it up rack by rack. I'm new to this smoker and I would have to put something in front of the door or put my knee against a nice smokey seasoned door to stop it from closing.... All you have to do is pull out any rack a couple inches and it'll stop the door from closing. It'll hold it open plenty wide to load up the racks. See picture below, the bottom rack is pulled out a bit to stop the door from closing. 

[​IMG]

Be back soon! Thanks for looking!

Last edited: Mar 21, 2012
  2. chef jimmyj

chef jimmyj Smoking Guru Staff Member Moderator Group Lead OTBS Member

Not much prettier than full Smoker and some nice Legs!...JJ

3. thoseguys26