MES temp controller off?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

lostfish

Original poster
Jun 5, 2009
Hello, I used my MES for the first time tonight, and had a temperature question. I programmed the temp for 210 degrees, and when it said it was ready, I popped my Taylor Weekend Warrior probe inside, and it read about 40 degrees hotter than what the MES was reading? MES programmed for 210 and the Taylor reading almost 250? Does anyone have a theory about why this might happen? I'm fairly new to smoking and this is my first time using the MES...any input helps!

Thanks!

First, never trust the thermometer that comes with a smoker.
smile.gif
Second, did you test the Taylor to make sure it was accurate? Third, where did you put the Taylor in the smoker? Towards the top, bottom or middle? I don't have a MES so I'm not sure where the temp sensor is located in it. I'm sure someone will be along soon who has a MES and can answer that question.

I am not familiar with your probe. Is it digital? Where did you have it placed? Did you calibrate your Taylor? If not test it with a glass of ice water as it is more accurate than boiling water due to altitude variances. If digital you you should use a potatoe or wood block to keep it off the grate. You should also have the water pan full to keep the temperatures from spiking. You will also notice a difference in temps right to left with the right side being hotter.

Hopes this helps and if you need any help just pm me and I will try and help.

Good luck!!