Masterbuilt moel numbers?!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Squirreljester

Original poster
Jan 29, 2018
To start with, hello, I'm new here, and I'd say I'm still a beginner smoker. I bought a firebox for my Chargriller grill 2 years ago, and I've probably smoked 8 racks of ribs and 2 briskets with it. I don't like constantly tending my fire and I can never get the heat to hold near the temps I want, it always swings wildly. I've tried some of the mods from online like I put 2 extra thermostats i the lid down near the racks, and I put a bunch of that high temp sealing foam around the lid and firebox, but I just need something easier to run.

So, I'm in the market for a new smoker, and I was all settled on the Masterbuilt 20070910 as a simple first time electric smoker but then I started looking at some of the fancier ones like the 20075315 for the added convenience of remote timers/monitors. That one is $342 on Amazon right now.

I also looked on my local garage sale facebook groups I belong to, and someone is selling a new in box 20070215 which I can't even find on Amazon. What the heck do these model numbers mean?! They seem to make no sense or have any rhyme or reason to them, and I can't find anywhere online that explains them, not even Masterbuilt's site. Has anyone on here deciphered them and can let me know what to look for?

Glad to be here, I hope to learn a lot poking around this site, and thanks in advance for any assistance anyone can provide.

-Erik