masterbuilt model mb20076718 smoker not heating

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

tdd3748

Original poster
Nov 17, 2013
I have a masterbuilt model mb20076718 smoker that is not heating.
I have replaced the heating element and the control panel and still no heat.
Is there something else I need to be checking?
I am not seeing any other access panels that I can remove and check.

Thanks to all who respond.

Tom D

I have a masterbuilt model mb20076718 smoker that is not heating.
I have replaced the heating element and the control panel and still no heat.
Is there something else I need to be checking?
I am not seeing any other access panels that I can remove and check.

Thanks to all who respond.

Tom D
Hi there and welcome!

I'd bet money that the safety limit rollout switch (overheat switch) is the problem.

It is the flat round quarter sized thing located here on the inside:
1637285907597-png-png.png

To get to it you will need to cut the sheet metal on the back of your smoker to make a panel (best option) or take the back off (which I do not recommend).

These switches melt down or the crappy female spade wire connectors corrode away. MES uses the least durable connectors possible, it seems.

Open it up and should you find the connectors or the switch to be an issue you can simply remove the wires from the switch and wire-nut the wires ends together for the time being to be back up and running but WARNING the overheat safety switch is no longer in the mix.