Masterbuilt 4 vs 5 Pin Contoller

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ConquisaThor

Original poster
Oct 6, 2020
I have a masterbuilt smoker that has a bad 4 pin controller. I have resoldered a part and it just keeps giving me trouble. I ordered another controller off eBay for a few dollars but its slightly different with 5 pins, plus 2 for a meat probe I don't have. Does anyone know if I can adapt this controller to work by just deleting one pin or does the 5 pin unit use a different temp measurement, or control device?

Thanks!

So to help anyone else out I found this diagram, for a fancy wifi module on the FCC site. https://fccid.io/YHXESQ-3040C2/Schematics/Circuit-Diagram-main-control-board-1560237

Best I can tell is the additional wire is for some sort of light, which my unit does not have. I have a grand total of 7 buck in a replacement controller for ebay and am not going to return it since I did not triple confirm the wiring config before buying it. Will delete pin 5 and post back here if I am still alive and well...

Thanks

...I have a grand total of 7 buck in a replacement controller for ebay and am not going to return it since I did not triple confirm the wiring config before buying it. Will delete pin 5 and post back here if I am still alive and well...

Thanks
If you know the pin-outs of the broken Masterbuilt controller, it sounds like all you need is the same for the ebay part you're buying. That should be available. Don't just assume 1 goes to 1, etc.

So to help anyone else out I found this diagram, for a fancy wifi module on the FCC site. https://fccid.io/YHXESQ-3040C2/Schematics/Circuit-Diagram-main-control-board-1560237