Looking to join a Competition cooking team in the Houston area

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokeonsmokin

Original poster
Mar 24, 2013
La Porte TX
aebfaa04_coreypic091.jpg
650e47a6_coreypic082.jpg

I have been cooking all my life and love to do it.. I just don't have the friends who r into it like i am so I'm looking to join a team r start one.. I have my own trailer and equipment just need the help and the know how of someone who has been around r a team that needs an extra man.

Hey smokeonsmokin, that's a beast of a pit you got there for sure, looks like like you could cook anything that comes along and gets too close to it.

I've been cooking comps as a one man team for 8 years now, You may want to try going to some cook offs in your area and making some acquaintances with cookers, maybe get with some of the promoters at different events in your area and volunteer to do some judging, and meeting folks that are out there cooking the comps or visiting and have similar desires of getting into the competition aspesct of BBQ. Go to the Texas Gulf Coast Barbecue Cookers Assoc. website, or International Barbecue Cookers Assoc. website and look on their calendars links, and they will show all of the sanctioned cook offs that are going on around you and the dates they are happening, also the promoters or contact person's phone numbers. I would suggest again if you are wanting to see what folks are cooking at comps and seeing what they are turning in, then try volunteering to judge different catagories at the cook offs you choose to attend. This will give you an idea of what is being turned in, what the rules are for cooking/judging and what is winning.  I would suggest finding sanctioned cooks under TGCBCA and IBCA