Looking to buy an electric, but doesn't smouldering wood = bad combustion = creosote?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Hauser

Original poster
Jul 7, 2018
I'm new to smoking personally but I come from an extended family of stick burners where the cardinal rule is getting clean smoke, that clear or very very slightly blue smoke that indicates the wood is burning hot enough that no creosote is being formed. I've been looking for more of a beginner pit and have been considering electrics since I've gotten good results on my FIL's Bradley, but when looking at the Smokin-It, SmokinTex and Cookshack style of pits that use real hunks of wood instead of processed pellets/pucks, it seems to me those cookers only get the wood to a smoulder which produces the sort of white smoke full of creosote you would never want to see on a stick burner!

Am I missing something or are those sorts of electrics for the folks who like that creosote taste?

it seems to me those cookers only get the wood to a smoulder which produces the sort of white smoke full of creosote you would never want to see on a stick burner!

Most folks that use those kinds of smokers have no problem getting TBS. There are different methods and techniques of course for each type of smoker. But that is true for any and all smokers. Lots to read around here and shorten the learning curve no matter which one you choose.

Last edited: