Just got a new MES from Sam's-Sgt Bluff, IA

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

sgtwalleye

Original poster
Apr 8, 2012
Sgt Bluff, IA
I've been smoking for quite a few years. I like doing ribs, butts, loins and jerky. I had been using a green mountain propane smoker prior to the MES, prior to that I've used charcoal smokers. I tried a pellet smoker last spring for a few weeks(lousiana). I liked the pellet smoker but the pellets get expensive and it seems it takes $20 worth to smoke a pork butt.

I liked the 40" MES because of the temp stability and I dont have to worry about burning anything like I did with the propane smoker. My propane smoker would char the edges of my jerky from time to time.

Last night I smoked a couple pork steaks, they were delicious! This morning I got a few wings on there for lunch and then I will put some ribs on after that for supper! It's my day off today so I plan to mow the grass while I smoke some good stuff!

Smoking some wings...

2d466a2f_ShelbyIphone275.jpg

I gotta thank my wife cuz she brought home for me! (after I hinted several times about wanting it)

I am looking forward to making some bacon and some sausage this summer!!

Welcome to the forums!  You will find a lot of great people here that have some great advice.  I have been smoking for about 2 years so I am still a Newbie at it!
icon_confused.gif
   Anyway good looking smoker!  I have a Brinkman deluxe smoker.

Welcome  I am also a newbie to smoking got a smokin-it model # 1 for Xmas this site has been my best asset as far as recipes and advice go.

And everybody loves the things I share especially the smoked shrimp & Salmon and my smoked cheese and smoked salmon dip

welcome1.gif