Jerky Temp question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

nomadd917

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Jun 27, 2017
Peoria, IL
Need some advice on a jerky cooking temp.

I currently have some eye of round roast sliced up and sitting in an equilibrium curing brine. 156 ppm nitrites, 2 % salt, and 1% sugar plus a couple other seasonings for flavor and spice. My plan was to cold smoke for about 2-3 hours then put in dehydrated at 135-145F until done ~8-10 hours. I have a Nesco Snackmaster Pro that is pretty accurate with temp control.

Question: does the pasteurization process apply and work with a food dehydrator?

Another thought was to first cold smoke, then Sous Vide the jerky at 135F for 6-8 hours, then dehydrate at 135-145 until done.

Give this a read before you proceed. Cure will stop you from getting Botulism but there are other bacteria to worry about...JJ

https://www.fsis.usda.gov/wps/porta...at-preparation/jerky-and-food-safety/ct_index

The site doesn’t talk about pasteurizing the meat prior to drying. I can understand the drying process and cooling effect and why it may be an issue to just dry the jerky at 145.

In theory wouldn’t sous vide kill any bacteria present (except Botulism)? By immediately transfering the meat from sous vide into pre heated dryer prevent new bacterial growth?

Here is what I gleaned from the article, JJ posted....