How to decrease temp

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

JustinLoos

Fire Starter
Original poster
May 17, 2020
Perrysburg, Ohio
Hi,

I’m new to stick burning and I would like advice on how to drop the smoker temp after I was to heavy handed with inserting more wood. I use a 20” Horizon offset smoker. It has a damper on the firebox and on the chimney. What are a few techniques to try?

F1E2CD6C-2F8A-4CA0-814B-330E893DDCC3.jpeg

If there is any air leaks in the firebox... temp control will be very frustrating .. If it was overstoked then the only way to lower temps would have been to pull some splits back out... Closing down vents will make it smolder and just put out an offensive amount of smoke ...

The only other thing I can say is... practice makes perfect... over time you will figure out what it likes to run at desired temps ...

I agree with pulling some of the wood. I'm not sure what temp you are shooting for or trying to maintain. When I had my offset, definitely not as robust as yours, I tried for a constant 300 degrees. Tough nut to crack. If I could keep the temp between 275 and 300 I was quite happy. And when adding wood, I kept the splits about half the length you have.

Thanks for the input, I appreciate the help. I was doing ribs and was aiming for 225 +\- 15 degrees. I was splitting those logs in 1/2 or 1/4s.

Thanks for the input, I appreciate the help. I was doing ribs and was aiming for 225 +\- 15 degrees. I was splitting those logs in 1/2 or 1/4s.
Were you splitting them to make them smaller diameter or cutting them in half? I’d try cutting in half or 1/4 length and keeping your fire as far away from the cook chamber as possible.