How Long Do Pellets Keep?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mrq

Original poster
Aug 5, 2019
I'm a newbie. I'm about 10 pork butts , 12 racks of ribs, some trout and salmon into smoking.
I read on another thread about folks buying a lot of pellets when they come on sale.
Assuming they are kept out of the sun in a dry spot, a garage or vented shed in my case, how long will they keep? Dick's has a sale on today. Limited selection, but ~$8/20lbs.

Thanks
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_14e9.jpg

as long as you keep them sealed up and dry a very long time

^^^What Jim Said ^^^
I got some 9 years old & still Like new, but never got wet. I keep them in a cabinet in my garage, in Half Gallon Screw top Jugs.

Bear

Some arsehole around here keeps burning them so I have to buy more lol, keep in a good container and may last forever till needed

It looks like your talking about pellets for use in a pellet smoker. If that's the case I would store them in your garage or shed on a wooden pallet. Away from moisture. I've got about ten bags of pellets stored in my garage on a skid(for my pellet stove) that are about 5 years old, and are still good to go.

Chris

I have some that are about 8 or 9 years old too, & they are still just like new. However before I use them I nuke them for a couple of minutes to make sure they are dried out. With all the humidity in Florida, even if stored in the house in sealed bags they still pick up some moisture.
Al