how do you decide between natural casings and collagen?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

stevensondrive

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Nov 25, 2012
Springfield IL
I am just getting into sausage making.  I made a batch of breakfast sausage and chorizo last weekend.  I made the breakfast into patties and the chorizo into small bags. 

I want my next batches to be italian sausage and smoked kielbasa.  is there any reason I can't use the collagen casings for both??

What are the advantages of each?

Thanks! I love this site 
biggrin.gif

Steve

Last edited:
Steve, morning...  I like natural casings for andouille, kielbasa and brats, etc...  I like the "old world" snap in the casings.... reminds me of growing up....    collagen for the slim jim type and salamis....   Of course bkfast patties is a no brainer...  I pack a 1 quart bag and roll flat with a rolling pin and freeze....   cut into quarters for 4 patties....  simple and good....   Personal preference is what matters most....   I have heard some folks say they would never eat natural because it is from offal ????

Dave

For regular sized sausages like brats, andouille, etc I tried both collagen and natural hog casings and found I like the natural better because of texture mainly. It seems to me like the collagen are a bit thicker too but the natural are tougher and more forgiving. The main positive I saw in the collagen was they don't stretch and you end up with perfectly even sausage. It takes a bit of practice to do that with natural casings. Still, I've only bought collagen once and always keep natural hog casings on hand.