Here it goes...with Qview

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

fastalkintn

Fire Starter
Original poster
Oct 13, 2007
Christiana, Tn
So it's been a while since I have been around. I have a few days off work so thought I would try a brisket. I have been doing ribs and pulled pork for a few years with great success but this is only my second brisket. The first one came out well cooked (very tender with a good smoke ring) but very bland tasting so I kind of gave up on them. My wife talked me into trying another one tomorrow. So far I have rubbed down with our favorite home made secret recipe rub and yellow mustard and have it in the fridge. I plan on some type of injection in the morning before I put it on but have not came up with anything that knocks my socks off yet. Going to do beef stock base and have a few ideas but cant decide. Anybody have any input on what they use that adds to the flavor but doesn't over power the great taste of smoked beef?

4308b7ed_11_29_11_03.jpg

All trimmed up

3701ee6b_11_29_11_01.jpg

Rubbed down and ready for the fridge.

Thats a good lookin hunk of meat there.

You might try using your rub mix with the beef stock and inject with that.

either way I will be here for the end.

44.gif
 too early for beer. lol

Mike

This truly is one of my favorite parts of smoking meat. Up early in the morning, everything is quite and calm. There is something very zen like once you have the meat on and a good cup of coffee in your hand just watching the TBS come from the magic box. Alone in the quite, just me and my thoughts.

On the other hand it is a tie between now and this afternoon when I have a nice bourbon in my hand enjoying a good cigar and the company of my wife anticipating the meal to come.