Help with AMNPS smoke level hot vs. cold

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

gtrplayer

Original poster
May 20, 2014
Bowie, Maryland
I have a new Masterbuilt 40" smoker I've been using for about a month or so.  I also picked up the AMNPS at the same time and have been trying to figure out what's the deal with the smoke level when the smoker is heating vs. cold.  I have learned to really get the AMNPS lit well before smoking and using a torch and a heat gun to get it going pretty good.  I did a brisket last weekend and had consistent smoke for about 12 hours straight.  Wonderful; however, when I am smoking something that requires heat, such as brisket, burgers, fatty, etc. the smoke is consistent but not as intense as I think it should be.  This leads to flavor that I don't think is as smokey as it should be.  I know this because when I've smoked cheese (of course the heating element isn't running), I get the thickest cloud of smoke known to man.  If I open the door to check, the level of smoke is amazing.  Its so thick that at first you can't even see what's in the smoker.  When smoking meat, if I open the door to check, its a nice level of smoke, but maybe less than half as much as the amount I get when smoking cheese with the element off.  Why is there such a difference?  Everything is the same for both.  I put the AMNPS on top of the water pan opening, no water pan, chip holder completely removed and the chip loading tray completely inserted into the side of the MES.  Like this:

Here is my "guess".... cold air is dense and has more oxygen than hot air.... the pellets burn better.... that should take a cold one or two to swallow....