Has this happened to anyone?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

what2smokenext

Original poster
May 28, 2015
2150DCFD-930B-426C-B1A4-B504BE6352F4.jpeg

I shut down Country Smokers Tailgater, that I’ve been using happily for about 2 years, like I always have done. The next time I went to use it, it was burned and melted to a crisp. Totally ruined. The fire had traveled up the auger tube into the hopper.
I bought a Pit Boss Pro Series to replace it. I did the initial burn off using the same pellets I used in the old one when it burned up. When I shut it down, I noticed flames coming out of the auger tube and put it out. I did a second burn off, after shut down, same thing. Flames in auger tube.
I have used that brand of pellets before with no problems. Maybe it was a bad batch. I bought some Pit Boss pellets and have had no more problems.

• Sad
Reactions: bigfurmn
That Sucks! What brand of Pellets keeps burning up?...JJ

Ive had an auger burn back once but was able to pull the auger and its been fine since. Sounds like a really bad batch of pellets. Maybe not packed hard enough and burned easier and faster? Not sure but I agree with Chef JJ... THAT SUCKS!

That Sucks! What brand of Pellets keeps burning up?...JJ
Traeger, but I don’t want to bad mouth them, I’ve used them a lot before with no problems.
I keep a close eye on my Pit Boss at shut down now. I know it’s like everything else. 💩 happens!

Reactions: chef jimmyj