Has anyone used B&B Hickory Lump from Walmart?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

SherryT

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
Dec 23, 2017
Crawford AL
I was surprised to see WM already had their BBQ stuff in stock in January, so I took a look and they had B&B Hickory Lump ($15/20lbs), so I grabbed a bag (an impulse buy, I know, but I'm new to this and got all excited).

So I go home and start searching for reviews (buying something of which you know nothing about without researching first is bad, I know, but, like I said, it was an impulse buy)...

About half the reviews I'm finding are pretty positive and the other half are VERY negative...has anyone here used it? I know $15 is not much to some, but I don't want to light a match to money when I can return it now and get something else, KWIM?

Thanks!

The only lump that i have ever bought that I wouldn't buy again is Cowboy.
It's like putting fireworks in your smoker.
Al

Reactions: SonnyE
The only lump that i have ever bought that I wouldn't buy again is Cowboy.
It's like putting fireworks in your smoker.
Al

LOL!
That'd be some snap! Crackle! and Pop! charcoal, I guess.

I bought a bag of Hickory pellets from Walmart a while back that I've been happy with. But no lump charcoal.

It is hard sometimes to sort through reviews. I feel that many negative ones are from folks that have vinegar in their veins. And there is no real way to determine if a particular reviewer actually bought and used the item being reviewed. Or if they are a shill posting a ding to a product they are in competition with. :mad:
Like you, most of us don't have money to burn. But some brands may be a softer charcoal that burns up faster.