Got 40lb's of Boneless Chicken Breast and trying my hand at sausage making!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

sedge99

Original poster
Sep 28, 2015
Hello,

I was given 40lb's of boneless chicken breast and wanted to make sausage for the first time before I start with pork.  It was given to me and I wanted to experiment before I picked up my pre-ordered pork this winter.   I am new to making sausage and have read through this site that the best cut of chicken is boneless chicken thighs w/ skins.  I however, saw different suggestions using BSCB and the norm is using SPC/DHFM, I have received SPC through SM today and was wondering does anyone have a recipe using both SPC with olive oil and any ratios on how much olive oil per lb of BSCB.  I was going to make 20lb of Italian and 20lb of breakfast sage sausage using Pop's family recipe.

I'm trying to figure out what your acronyms are.... Unless you use some solid fat, you may be disappointed in the finished product... If you want a "pure" chicken product, purchase some schmaltz from Amazon...

Reactions: sedge99
Dave Omak,

Thanks for replying.  I was thinking of grounding one pound of bacon with 4lb of boneless skinless chicken breast (BSCB) I apologize for the confusions.  I just received Soy Protein Concentrate.  My issue is the with the ratio with using 5 lb of boneless chicken breast and Soy Protein Concentrate, how much olive oil should it take with SPC per ten pounds?  Again thanks for responding, I am new at this and don't want to waste the experience before I start with the more expensive cut of pork..  Any tips/advice is much appreciated by someone just starting out.