Fresh Christmas Ham Results

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

RME

Original poster
Jul 28, 2022
Saratoga Springs NY
Hi and I have been doing one or two fresh hams a year for about 10 years - typically Christmas or New Year's and Easter. I am OK at it - but not like someone that does multiple hams a year.

So thought I would post what I do both to possibly help out people who haven't done it before and to elicit some advice from people are better at it than I am.

I start with a Berkshire half bone in half ham from Fred The Butcher here in upstate NY. I have found I get a much better juicer result with the bone in ham than boneless.

I also ask the butcher to remove the skin. I find the skin just dissolves into a gelatinous mess during the brining process. There are numerous YouTube videos telling people how to make cracklins out of pork skin. I've never made that work. Keeping the skin on may also retard the brining and carrying process.

Then I brought it for about 10 days useing two tablespoons of 1 Prague powder, two cups of Diamond Crystal kosher, quart dark maple syrup (Morton kosher is saltier so if you use that you may need less salt). Dissolve that in a half gallon of boiling water, put into a food safe container with a gallon of cold water, add the ham and fill until the ham is more than covered.

For people not familiar with Prague powder it's a nitrate. Some people cure their ham with just salt, but it won't have a "ham" taste or look.