Freezing cured meat?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Allan28

Original poster
Dec 31, 2019
I'm in the process of thawing some meat (muscle cut) for jerky, and will be using a Hi Mountain seasoning kit with cure. Once the meat is thawed in fridge, I'll marinate for 24 hours in the fridge before smoking. My question, hoping I don't have too much meat for my smoker, but if I do, can I freeze the extra marinated meat safely for another smoke?

The reason I ask, is I'm new to this where my first batch of ground meat for jerky, was too much for the smoker. Had about 1lb left over that was already mixed with a seasoning kit with cure, where I re-froze it, not knowing if this would be safe to use later?

You can store it in the refer for 24 hours, no problem, and smoke the next day....

Thanks, but assuming you can't smoke within the next 24 hrs, is it safe to re freeze marinated meat and smoke at a later date?

I'm in the process of thawing some meat (muscle cut) for jerky, and will be using a Hi Mountain seasoning kit with cure. Once the meat is thawed in fridge, I'll marinate for 24 hours in the fridge before smoking. My question, hoping I don't have too much meat for my smoker, but if I do, can I freeze the extra marinated meat safely for another smoke?

The reason I ask, is I'm new to this where my first batch of ground meat for jerky, was too much for the smoker. Had about 1lb left over that was already mixed with a seasoning kit with cure, where I re-froze it, not knowing if this would be safe to use later?

I had that problem when I thought I'd save a couple bucks 10 years ago, by buying an MES 30.
Then I made 10 pounds of Beef Sticks & could only get 7 pounds in my MES 30.